Cholula Chicken Enchiladas #SundaySupper

Cholula Hot Sauce is my absolute favorite! I put it on everything! I used to have a bottle in my car just in case…man I need to replenish that supply. When it comes to keeping the soul warm I always think of hot sauce first. I love Cholula so much and it is also hot but not overwhelming, it is warm 😉 well I mean it is hot sauce so if you have too much your mouth will be on fire but oh it is such a lovely taste. I have to have it on my fish tacos, rolled tacos, anything Mexican. It also is awesome on breakfast burritos and mac n cheese. So it seemed like an obvious choice to make an Enchilada sauce out of it. Cholula did not even have a recipe for this…they will now, it came out amazing!! A new favorite and it was so easy. I should note that I do not like enchiladas with too much sauce, so this is a dryer version than your usual enchiladas.

Ingredients

1 Rotisserie chicken (because that’s how I roll)

Cholula Hot Sauce (1/8 cup)

Tortillas (corn or flour your preference, I like flour for enchiladas normally)

1 can diced Green Chiles

1/2 of an Onion, diced

1/2 green pepper, diced

1 ear of corn, well, the kernels cut from the cob anyway

1/8 cup California chili powder

1 8oz can of El Pato tomato sauce

1/4 cup water

3 tablespoons of veggie oil

1 tablespoon flour

1 fresh garlic clove, minced

1/2 tablespoon of crushed carroway seed

1/2 tablespoon of crushed coriander

1/2 can of black beans

green onions

Shredded cheese of your choice (jack, mozzarella, and cheddar make a nice mixture)

Directions

No I don’t have man hands, I had an assistant 🙂 I started by boiling water and cooking the ear of corn. Meanwhile, I preheated the oven to 325 and I pulled all the meat off the bones, shredding it into a large bowl. In a saucepan, I heated the oil, added the garlic and flour. After a minute, I added the chili powder and stirred. After another minute I added the tomato sauce, water, green chilies, and the Cholula.

The corn was finished, so I cut it from the cob. After stirring the sauce for a few minutes, I turned off the heat, and added the chicken, onion, green pepper, beans, and corn.

Next I filled up the tortillas…they actually turned out like pretty respectably sized burritos, and placed them in a glass dish. I sprinkled the cheese over them, tossed some green onions on top, and popped it in the oven for 10 minutes.

After the 10 minutes, I broiled on high for 3 minutes, making the cheese into a nice bubbly and slightly crispy topping.

Cool and serve. I topped with extra Cholula, you know, to taste 🙂

This Week’s Warm you up Sunday Supper Recipes:

Main Entrees: 

Chili/Stews:

Soups:

Desserts/Beverages:

Join on us on Twitter throughout the day during #SundaySupper.  In the evening we will meet at 7pm EST for our weekly #SundaySupper live chat.

All you have to do is follow the #SundaySupper hashtag or you can follow us through TweetChat.

We’d also love to feature your Sunday Supper Soul Warming Recipes on our #SundaySupper Pinterest board and share them with all of our followers, too.

Leave a comment